The Ascension of Clive

The next time I see Clive he tells me all is well. I have my doubts. Musette made me promise to ask him if he was still interested in covering my Sundays.

He tells me he’s not. He just signed up for Obama-Care and if he picks up any more hours he will not get free health insurance.

“I’m sorry for rescinding my offer.” he says. “It’s just that I’m getting more benefits by not working than I would were I to work.”

“I understand.” I say. “You’re living the dream…”

“It’s like I’m fading into heaven right before your eyes.” he says.

“Pretty soon I’ll be seeing you on the streets.”  I say.

“Let’s not get ahead of ourselves…” he says.

I agree.

Leave a Reply

