I ran to work today. I had to. I woke up at eleven. And I still had to take the dog out. I remember when, on my first day of paid work, Musette convinced me to try taking the bus, and I had to run because the bus had been incredibly off schedule. I got to work in fifteen minutes – or at least that’s how fast Musette thinks I got there.

I am too out of shape to run the whole way so I set little rally points. Between this block and that block. Across this street. Through this intersection. Between these two groups of people.

I make it right on time, without a minute to spare and not a minute late. It takes me longer than fifteen minutes but less than thirty.

I’m sweating when I unlock the shop. A customer follows me in. I help him in the unlit store. He doesn’t have enough money on his card so I have to take a pipe off his order and undercharge him for a nicotine juice. Thus begins one of the most lucrative days of my time working there thus far.

By the end of the day I’ve made the store over six hundred dollars. My bosses are impressed. I didn’t have an opportunity to do much computer work, which is fine by me. I don’t get paid enough to put my whole heart into it. I don’t know how much that would cost.

It’s Black Friday. I guess people shop even when there are no deals to be had. The fat jew who works at the real estate office down the street came in and talked to me for a long time. He always buys something. Today he bought a big bong after looking at everything we have in the store. He was there for over an hour. He helped me sell things to customers.

I didn’t know that he was a jew before today. I told him that I like where I live because of all the Hasidim in the area. That’s when he told me that he was once a Hasidim and lived in Israel. He showed me his old bus pass.

I said, yep, there you are.

And then I told him that I was and technically still am a Mormon.

Who would have thought that a Mormon and a Jew would be such great friends, he asks.

I tell him that I would love to come over to his place and watch television with him.

He had told me earlier that he has a Direct TV subscription and his parents’ HBO Go account information.

He says, you bring the bud and you’re more than welcome.

The conversation ends there.

Leave a Reply

